Our Advisors


Dr. Wallace Southerland III


Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Dr. Southerland provides leadership for programs and initiatives in the areas of housing and residence education; career services; student leadership, organizations, and fraternity/sorority life; counseling and wellness services; diversity and inclusion; international programs; student information systems; and other student success initiatives through the Waino Wahtera Center for Student Success, including disability services, academic coaching, and student success courses.



The USG body has a set of committees to divide up the work required by our positions; all are listed below with their responsibilities and members. If you would like to get in contact with a committee directly, the contact information for each committee’s Chair is included.


The events committee is responsible for the planning and execution of USG events throughout the year. The Events Committee also is responsible for the management of the Student Org storage building.



Membership: Chair, Vice-Chair, Ex-Oficio(Treasurer), Storage Manager, and other members of the general body.

Chair: Tim Peters

Ex. Officio: Emily Ruf


Members: Eva Thomason, Jonathan Willis


The Judiciary Committee resolves all election protests and complaints, all Constitution and Bylaw disputes that are unable to be resolved by the Parliamentarian, and any personnel issues pertaining to any body member.


Membership: Chair (Parliamentarian), Vice-Chair (S.A. Vice-Chair), one elected member of the general body, and two appointed students of the Student Assembly.

Chair: Time Peters


VP Student Affairs: 

Members: Student Assembly



The Personnel Committee meets on a need-be basis to conduct a review of a USG member if an issue arises. The issues under review are specific to a specified limit of unexcused absences to general meetings/committee meetings/office hours as well as the implication of malfeasance/misfeasance/nonfeasance in office.


Membership: Chair (Vice President), Alternate (appointed member of the general body), and the remaining five Committee Chairs.

Chair: Kaitlyn Black

Vice Chair: 

Alternate: Mason Krause

Members: Ethan Betzoldt, Emily Ruf, Tim Peters, Peyton Hall, Davi Sprague

Political Affairs

The Political Affairs committee plans and coordinates events designed to promote political involvement on campus. Formerly involved with the Student Association of Michigan (SAM), Political Affairs now focuses on organizing with the universities in our region through the 1UP Conference.



Membership: Chair, Ex-Officio(Secretary), Vice-Chair, and three other members of the general body.

Chair: Ethan Betzoldt

Ex-Officio: Isobel Bowker


Members: Griffin Abbott, Chris Kirschke, Ethan Gerds, Ally O'Neil

Public Relations

The Public Relations Committee is responsible for all advertising and publications regarding USG. The committee strives to be as transparent as possible to the student body keeping them updated on current projects and events.



Membership: Chair, Ex-Officio(Vice President), Vice-Chair, Webmaster, and three other members of the general body.

Chair: Peyton Hall

Ex-Officio: Kaitlyn Black

Vice-Chair: Mariah Mellendorf


Members: Ambarish Rao

Student Affairs

Student Affairs is responsible for finding, investigating, and resolution of issues brought forth from the student body. Student Affairs also advocates for the rights and of the campus community and serves as a check on university policy.



Membership: Chair, Ex-Officio (President), Vice-Chair, Diversity Liaison, and three other members of the general body.

Chair: Davi Sprague

Ex-Officio: Cheyenne Scott


Diversity Liaison: Mariah Mellendorf

Members: Hazel McGovern, Kaydence Drys, Mason Krause

Ways and Means (WAM)

WAM makes recommendations to the rest of the body on funding requests. Most of the money that is disbursed to students from USG goes through WAM first. All of WAM’s recommendations must be voted on by the entire body during a meeting.



Membership: Chair (Treasurer), President, Vice President, Secretary, and two elected members of the general body.

Chair: Emily Ruf

President: Cheyenne Scott

Vice President: Kaitlyn Black

Secretary: Isobel Bowker

Members: Jordan Craven, Cole Becker